zeroflylivestock

Ouganda

Agnes Luwesi, éleveur laitier, Ouganda

Agnes Luwesi, éleveur laitier, Ouganda

Elle a constaté la réduction du nombre de mouches d’étable et de mouches dans la maison, dont l’enclos des vaches est tout proche. Les vaches sont calmes pendant la traite et mangent bien car elles sont plus tranquilles. Les bêtes sont saines, alors qu’avant l’installation elles avaient des plaies aux sabots. Avant l’installation, l’achat de sprays répulsifs contre les mouches lui coûtait 12,000 Ugx (4.8 USD). Pendant la traite il y avait des projections de bouse dans le lait en raison des coups de pied ou de queue. Elle perdait à peu près 5 litres de lait une ou deux fois par mois à cause de vaches qui renversaient leur seau. Les plaies des animaux sont maintenant guéries, le lait n’est plus renversé et le lait fourni au point de collecte est propre.

David Tugume, éleveur laitier, Ouganda

David Tugume, éleveur laitier, Ouganda

"Les mouches ont fortement diminué et les bêtes sont paisibles, confortables et faciles à traire." Il y a eu une augmentation du rendement quotidien. Autrefois il obtenait 80 litres par jour, maintenant il en obtient 110 par jour (une hausse de 30 litres). Ceci a permis d’augmenter son revenu journalier. La contamination par les mouches du lait recueilli est réduite puisque la population de mouches a baissé. Il encourage les fermiers de sa coopérative à acheter le nouveau LiveStock.

Madame Nshangano, éleveuse laitière, Ouganda

Madame Nshangano, éleveuse laitière, Ouganda

Il y a eu une forte réduction des mouches dans l’enclos des veaux. Autrefois les veaux avaient souvent la diarrhée mais depuis l’installation ils vont bien et n’ont plus la diarrhée. Quand elle a vu les avantages de ZeroFly® LiveStock, elle a décidé de l’acheter pour la salle de traite qui contient 21 vaches. Ses employés peuvent maintenant traire en paix sans être piqués par les mouches, et les vaches sont également très calmes : plus de coups de pied dans le seau ni de coups de queue.

M. Hannington, éleveur laitier, Ouganda

M. Hannington, éleveur laitier, Ouganda

Il n’y a plus de coups de queue pendant la traite comme c’était le cas avant l’installation. De plus, il perdait 2-3 seaux de lait renversés par les vaches pendant la traite en raison des piqures de mouches. Depuis l’installation, les vaches sont calmes et il n’y a pas plus de lait renversé pendant la traite. Avant, il y avait des mouches dans le lait mais ce n’est plus le cas.
Les bergers/vachers sont aussi motivés et traient beaucoup mieux car eux non plus ne sont plus piqués par les mouches. Avant l’installation du filet ils évitaient la traite et usaient de prétextes pour ne pas traire en raison des douloureuses piqures des mouches d’étable, les “kawawa”. En termes de rendement, M. Hannington obtenait 30 litres (de 7 vaches laitières) mais il obtient désormais 34-36 litres par jour et s’attend à plus. M. Hannington a aussi constaté une réduction des moustiques et mouches domestiques dans sa maison, sa famille et ses visiteurs ont l’esprit tranquille et peuvent même s’asseoir dehors, ce qui était auparavant impossible.

Mr. Mukasa, éleveur laitier, Ouganda

Mr. Mukasa, éleveur laitier, Ouganda

"Il y a eu une forte baisse du nombre de mouches depuis que le ZeroFly® a été installé, les bêtes sont paisibles et mangent en toute quiétude. Avant l’installation, une des vaches avaient des plaies aux pattes arrières près du pis, en raison des piqures des mouches, mais maintenant elle cicatrise et se remet bien, et le poil commence même à repousser autour de la zone affectée." Avant d’acheter ZeroFly® LiveStock, les mouches étaient trop envahissantes et les plaies de l’une de ses vaches ne faisaient qu’empirer : Il a dépensé plus de Ugx.1 million ($400) en soins pour elle, et à chaque visite du vétérinaire il devait débourser Ugx. 100,000 ($40), qu’il peut désormais économiser puisque le vétérinaire ne vient plus. Il a invité des fermiers à venir voir le filet "merveilleux" et la façon dont il permet de réduire la population de mouches qui a augmenté après les pluies.

Mme. Ruyondo, éleveur laitier, Ouganda

Mme. Ruyondo, éleveur laitier, Ouganda

Depuis que ZeroFly a été installé, elle a observé une forte baisse du nombre de mouches même pendant la saison des pluies. Elle constate aussi un meilleur rendement laitier de ses vaches. Elle obtenait autrefois en moyenne 400 litres de lait par jour (avant l’installation) et obtient maintenant 600 litres par jour, soit une hausse de 200 litres qui valent environ ugx. 60,000 (USD 24). Ceci a considérablement augmenté son revenu journalier et a amélioré son niveau de vie et celui de sa famille.

Malaria Research

IR Mapper is a tool that maps insecticide resistance. It consolidates reports of insecticide resistance in malaria mosquitoes onto filterable maps to inform vector control strategies.

irmapperhomepage

Buy LifeStraw®

For consumer purchases, visit Buy LifeStraw® to find a local retailer. For each consumer purchase, one school child in Africa will receive clean water for an entire school year. For large quantities purchased for public health settings, contact us

buylifestraw

Contact Us

Connect with us

Subscribe to e-newsletter

facebook 32  twitter 32  linkedin 32  youtube 32 

Our Partners

  • carter
  • malarianomore
  • rollback
  • unitednations
  • worldvision

zeroflylivestock

Uganda

Agnes Luwesi, Dairy Farmer, Uganda

Agnes Luwesi, Dairy Farmer, Uganda

She has experienced fly reduction on stable flies as well as houseflies within her homestead as the cow pen is within her compound. The cows are calm when milking and they feed well as they are more peaceful. The animals are healthy unlike before installation when they used to have hoof wounds. Before the installation, it would cost her 12,000 Ugx (4.8 USD) to buy fly repellant sprays. When milking, she would experience cow dung splashes into the milk due to stamping / tail wagging. She would loose approximately 5 litres of milk once or twice in a month as a result of the cows kicking the milking bucket. The animal wounds are now healed, no milk bucket pours and the quality of milk supplied to the collection point is clean.

David Tugume, Dairy Famer, Uganda

David Tugume, Dairy Famer, Uganda

"Flies have reduced considerably and his animals are at peace, comfortable and easy to milk."  There has been an increase in the daily milk production. He used to get 80 liters per day, now he gets 110 liters per day (an increase of 30 liters). This has contributed to an increase in his daily income.  Contamination by flies to the milk collected is reduced since the fly population has reduced. He is encouraging farmers in his cooperative to purchase the new livestock net.

Madam Nshangano, Dairy Farmer, Uganda

Madam Nshangano, Dairy Farmer, Uganda

There was a drastic reduction of flies on the calf pen. The calves used to get a lot of diarrhea but since the installation they are still fine and free of diarrhea. When she saw the benefits of ZeroFly® Livestock, she decided to purchase for her milking parlor where she has 21 cows. Her milking staff now milk in peace without being bitten by the flies and the cows are also very calm and there is no more kicking of the buckets and tail wagging.

Mr. Hannington, Dairy Farmer, Uganda

Mr. Hannington, Dairy Farmer, Uganda

There’s no more tail wagging during milking as it used to be before installation. In addition, he would lose 2-3 milk buckets as a result of the cows kicking the buckets due to fly bites when being milked.  After the installation, the cows are calm when being milked and there is no milk loss. The milk also used to have some flies in it but now there are no more flies in the milk.
The herdsmen/workers are also motivated and milk very well since the flies also don’t bite then anymore. Before the net was installed they used to dodge and give excuses not to milk due to the painful bites by stable flies locally known as “kawawa”. In terms of milk production, Mr. Hannigton used to get 30 liters (from 7 milking animals) but now he gets 34-36 liters daily and expects more. Mr. Hannington has is also experiencing a reduction of mosquitoes and houseflies in his house, his family and visitors have peace of mind and can now sit outside which they couldn’t do earlier.

Mr. Mukasa, Dairy Farmer, Uganda

Mr. Mukasa, Dairy Farmer, Uganda

"There has been a big reduction in the number of flies ever since the ZeroFly® was installed the animals are at peace and feed comfortably. Before the installation, one of the cows had wounds around the hind quarters near the udder area because of flies, but now its healing and its recovering steadily with hair starting to grow around the affected area." Before purchasing ZeroFly® Livestock, the fly burden was too much and the wounds on one of his cows were getting worse. He had used over Ugx.1 million ($400) as treatment costs ever since it got sick, and for every visit for a vet, he was charged Ugx. 100,000 ($40) which he has started on saving as the vet doesn’t need to come any more. He has invited some farmers to have a look at the “wonder” net and how it’s working in reducing the fly population which has increased after the onset of rains.

Mrs. Ruyondo, Dairy Farmer, Uganda

Mrs. Ruyondo, Dairy Farmer, Uganda

Since ZeroFly was installed she has witnessed a marked reduction in fly population even when the rainy season is on. There has been also an increase in the milk production from her animals. She used to get an average of 400 liters of milk per day before installation and now she gets 600 liters per day, an increment of 200 liters daily worth ugx. 60,000 (USD 24). This has dramatically increased her daily income which has improved her and the family’s livelihood. 

Malaria Research

IR Mapper is a tool that maps insecticide resistance. It consolidates reports of insecticide resistance in malaria mosquitoes onto filterable maps to inform vector control strategies.

irmapperhomepage

Buy LifeStraw®

For consumer purchases, visit Buy LifeStraw® to find a local retailer. For each consumer purchase, one school child in Africa will receive clean water for an entire school year. For large quantities purchased for public health settings, contact us

buylifestraw

Contact Us

Connect with us

Subscribe to e-newsletter

facebook 32  twitter 32  linkedin 32  youtube 32 

Our Partners

  • carter
  • malarianomore
  • rollback
  • unitednations
  • worldvision