zeroflybags

ZeroFly® Storage Bag

storagebadimageZeroFly® Storage Bag est le premier sac de stockage imprégné d’insecticide qui empêche les animaux ravageurs d’infester les récoltes. Il permet de réduire les pertes en semences et grains susceptibles d’être consommés, mis en réserve ou vendus plus tard à un meilleur prix, tout en évitant les risques liés à la fumigation ou les traces de pesticide qui résultent de pulvérisations chimiques intempestives. L’insecticide est incorporé dans chacune des fibres des sacs, ce qui permet d’éliminer efficacement, avant le remplissage des sacs, les insectes qui se nourrissent du grain ou des semences à stocker.






  • Les déperditions post-récolte impactent la sécurité alimentaire.

    • Selon la Banque Mondiale, toute réduction de 1% des déperditions post-récolte entraine un gain de USD 40 millions, dont les petits fermiers seraient les principaux bénéficiaires. Le montant des pertes post-récolte dans la seule Afrique Sub-Saharienne atteint presque USD 4 milliards par an, sur une valeur de grain annuelle de USD 27 milliards.
    • On estime que 10 à 30% de la production alimentaire mondiale annuelle est perdue au cours des transformations post-récolte. Ceci fait baisser le rendement pour le fermier et a un effet préjudiciable sur la sécurité alimentaire mondiale.
    • Dans les pays en voie de développement, les importantes déperditions de grain après la récolte aggravent le problème de la faim et représentent un gâchis de couteuses ressources: engrais, eau pour l’irrigation et travail humain.

    L’entreposage est l’opération post-récolte la plus délicate.

    • La déprédation du grain pendant son entreposage peut survenir de conditions de stockage incorrectes qui entrainent sa contamination par des champignons/moisissures ou son infestation par des insectes.
    • Réutiliser les mêmes bacs ou sacs tous les ans sans prendre les mesures d’hygiène appropriées entretient un cycle ininterrompu d’infestations. Les insectes peuvent hiberner, ou même continuer à s’alimenter dans les structures en bois du silo, ou se dissimuler dans les creux et fissures des murs. Ils peuvent ré-infester la nouvelle récolte entreposée dans le même local et reprendre leur alimentation.
    • L’entreposage des nouvelles récoltes à côté de récoltes précédentes non protégées peut aussi entrainer la déprédation de la nouvelle récolte par les insectes. L’une des principales sources d’infestation des denrées entreposées est le champ où la plante a poussé.

    ZeroFly® Storage Bag diminue la déperdition post-récolte.

    • ZeroFly® Storage Bag est nouveau et innovant : un sac en polypropylène imprégné d’insecticide, conçu pour protéger les denrées (grain et semences) des infestations par les insectes ravageurs lors de l’entreposage.
    • Le succès mitigé en matière de réduction des pertes post-récolte à grande échelle met en lumière le besoin de combiner les bonnes pratiques, les nouvelles technologies et les recommandations pragmatiques pour diminuer les pertes. Les outils actuels sont assortis de problèmes de bon usage des pesticides et de ré-interventions. La fumigation est une pratique courante, mais c’est un pesticide volatile. Son inconvénient majeur est le défaut de gestion et d’hygiène des stocks, entrainant le recours à des fumigations fréquentes, avec pour conséquence le danger d’une accumulation excessive de bromure dans le grain.
    • Les gouvernements ont tout intérêt à protéger les réserves de grain entreposées. Les fermiers ont intérêt à préserver les récoltes de grain pour leur propre consommation entre deux périodes de culture, et pour la revente lorsque les prix du marché sont les plus favorables. Les pertes post-récolte dues aux insectes sont estimées à 2-20% du grain récolté en Afrique sub-saharienne.

     

    Comment traiter par fumigation

    (Source: FAO Manual of Fumigation for Insect Control)

     

     

  • L’ingrédient actif est incorporé dans les fibres de polypropylène tissées, et il migre continuellement vers la surface du tissu, afin que les denrées stockées dans le sac soient continuellement protégées des infestations par les insectes.

    ZeroFly® Storage Bag offre une protection prouvée contre les insectes ravageurs suivants:ZFstorage diagram--new-2-web

    • ZeroFly® Storage Bag est un sac innovant imprégné d’insecticide, à longue durée d’action et sans danger pour l’environnement ; il tue les insectes ravageurs de denrées alimentaires avant qu’ils ne puissent infester le grain ou les semences stockées dans le sac.
    • Il est efficace, sans danger et protège les réserves de grain et de semences en réduisant les déperditions dues aux insectes, tout en limitant les traces de pesticides.
    • Les sacs protègent la qualité des récoltes, réduisant le volume de grains et semences endommagés qui conduisent à un déclassement en qualité et à des prix inférieurs.
    • Ils diminuent les ré-interventions en permettant un contrôle constant, soutenu, prolongé, grâce à la migration permanente de l’insecticide à la surface des fibres.

     

     Khapra beetle Dermeste du Grain    pulsebeetle Bruche du Niebe
     rice Charançon du riz    largergrain Grand capucin du maïs
     maize Charançon du maïs    lessergrain Capucin des grains
     granary Charançon du blé    confusedbeetle Tribolium brun de la farine
     indianmeal Teigne des fruits secs
    (également pyrale indienne)
       redflour Tribolium rouge de la farine

     

     

Malaria Research

IR Mapper is a tool that maps insecticide resistance. It consolidates reports of insecticide resistance in malaria mosquitoes onto filterable maps to inform vector control strategies.

irmapperhomepage

Buy LifeStraw®

For consumer purchases, visit Buy LifeStraw® to find a local retailer. For each consumer purchase, one school child in Africa will receive clean water for an entire school year. For large quantities purchased for public health settings, contact us

buylifestraw

Contact Us

Connect with us

Subscribe to e-newsletter

facebook 32  twitter 32  linkedin 32  youtube 32 

Our Partners

  • carter
  • malarianomore
  • rollback
  • unitednations
  • worldvision

zeroflybags

ZeroFly® Storage Bag

storagebadimageZeroFly® Storage Bag is the first insecticide-incorporated storage bag to prevent damaging pest infestations. It reduces the loss of seed or grains that can be consumed, stored for security, or sold for optimized prices, while not having the hazards associated with fumigation or the potential for pesticide residues that come from inaccurate insecticide spraying. Insecticide is incorporated into individual fibers of the bags, which provides a powerful killing action against stored product insects before they can infest the grain or seed packed in the bag. 

Download the new ZeroFly Storage Bag brochure here.

Learn more about the new ZeroFly® Hermetic Storage Bag

 

  • Post-harvest losses impact food security.

    • According to the World Bank, a 1% reduction in post-harvest losses corresponds to a gain of USD 40 million, with farmers as key beneficiaries. The value of post-harvest losses in Sub-Saharan Africa alone is nearly USD 4 billion a year out of an annual grain value of USD 27 billion.
    • An estimated 10 to 30 percent of worldwide annual food production is lost during post-harvest processes. This impacts the farmer with loss of profitability and has a detrimental effect on global food security.
    • Significant volumes of grain in developing countries are lost after harvest, aggravating hunger and resulting in expensive inputs, such as fertilizer, irrigation water, and human labor, being wasted.

    Storage is the most critical post-harvest operation.

    • Deterioration of the grain quality during storage can be due to improper storing conditions, which leads to contamination with fungi or insect infestation.
    • Using the same bins or bags year after year without proper hygiene, provides a continuous chain of infestation. Insects can hibernate or even continue to feed on wooden structures of the store or hide between holes and cracks in the walls. They can then reinfest the new crop in the same store and resume feeding.
    • Storage of uncovered, previously harvested crops next to those newly harvested, can also result in insects spoiling the newly-harvested crops. A primary source of infestation of the stored crop is the field where the crop has grown.

    ZeroFly® Storage Bag reduces post-harvest losses.

    • ZeroFly® Storage Bag is novel and innovative insecticide-incorporated polypropylene bag designed to protect commodities (grains and seeds) against destructive insect pest infestation during storage.
    • Limited success in reducing post-harvest losses at scale highlight the need to provide best practices, new technologies and practical recomemndations to reduce losses. Current tools have challenges with correct use of pesticides and repeat intervention. Fumigation is common practice but it is a volatile pesticide. The most common deficiency in fumigation is the neglect of hygiene and stock management, resulting in the necessity of frequent fumigation. Consequently, there are hazards of excessive bromide residue accumulation in the grain. 
    • Governments have an interest in protecting grain reserves in storage. Farmers have an interest in saving grain harvests for food bewteen growing seasons and for selling when prices are favorable. Post-harvest losses due to insects are estimated between 2-20% of harvested grain in sub-Saharan Africa. 

     

    How to properly fumigate

    (Source: FAO Manual of Fumigation for Insect Control)

     

     

  • The active ingredient is incorporated into the polypropylene yarns that are woven together and is released on the surface of the material in a sustained manner so that the commodities stored in the bag are continuously protected against insect infestation.

    ZeroFly® Storage Bag offers proven protection against the following pests:ZFstorage diagram--new-2-web

      • ZeroFly® Storage Bag is an insecticide-incorporated, long-lasting and environmentally friendly innovation, which provides a powerful killing action against stored product insects before they can infest the grain or seed packed in the bag.
      • It is effective, safe and increases grain and seed stocks by reducing loss to insects, while reducing pesticide residues.
      • The bags protect crop quality, reducing the volume of damaged grains and seeds that result in quality downgrade and price discounts.
      • They reduce repeat intervention by giving consistent, sustained, long-lasting control, through continuously refreshing insecticide at the surface of yarns. 

     

     Khapra beetle Khapra beetle    pulsebeetle Pulse beetle
     rice Rice Weevil    largergrain Larger Grain Borer
     maize Maize Weevil    lessergrain Lesser Grain Borer
     granary Granary Weevil    confusedbeetle Confused Flour beetle
     indianmeal Indian Meal moth    redflour Red Flour Beetle

     

     

Malaria Research

IR Mapper is a tool that maps insecticide resistance. It consolidates reports of insecticide resistance in malaria mosquitoes onto filterable maps to inform vector control strategies.

irmapperhomepage

Buy LifeStraw®

For consumer purchases, visit Buy LifeStraw® to find a local retailer. For each consumer purchase, one school child in Africa will receive clean water for an entire school year. For large quantities purchased for public health settings, contact us

buylifestraw

Contact Us

Connect with us

Subscribe to e-newsletter

facebook 32  twitter 32  linkedin 32  youtube 32 

Our Partners

  • carter
  • malarianomore
  • rollback
  • unitednations
  • worldvision